July Reading

After a long phase of non-fiction reading, I’ve switched back to fiction for the last couple of weeks.  I read A Beginner’s Goodbye by Anne Tyler, a book which I enjoyed very much.  It was very reminiscent of her book The Accidental Tourist, and made me want to watch that movie again.  I finished The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton.  I had not read any books by this author before, and it is really not my usual style.  I am not a mystery reader.  This book was an enjoyable read with an engaging heroine (actually 3 or 4 engaging heroines) and a plot which although fairly transparent was interestingly developed.  I usually say “this was written on a postage stamp” when the solution to the mystery is obvious halfway through the book, but enough of this mystery was left unknown to make finishing the book worthwhile.

Eden recommended Impossible  by Nancy Werlin.  It took me an afternoon to read, and was not a typical rewritten fairy tale but a twist on a classic ballad, Scarborough Fair.  The most interesting thing to me about this story was the description of the attachment between the pregnant woman and the child she is carrying.  It made me nostalgic for the days when I would “speak” to my pregnant belly, longing for the day I could hold the baby in my arms.

I also read Finding Ultra by Rich Roll.  I have read several endurance training stories recently, since I read Born to Run. This book actually contained far more information about his recovery from alcoholism than his training and change to a plant-based diet.  As such, it educated me about some of the challenges facing a recovering alcoholic, but did not fulfill the promise of its title.

Lulu and Max have been reading the Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull.  She has read all 5, and Max just finished book 3.  They really like this series, and have been using these ideas in the imaginative play all week.  Perhaps your kids would like these books, too.

The other books on my list for July are nature essays.  One is a book about the Grand Gulch area of southern Utah that I am really excited to start, and I am also looking forward to reading the others.  One problem I have with essays and short stories is that I have a tendency to gobble them down.  I think of a book of essays or short stories as a box of chocolates.  I really should just eat one, enjoy it, and come back for another tomorrow.  Instead, I gobble them down quickly and end up with a stomach ache!  I am going to exert myself to read these books slowly.

Do you enjoy reading essays and short stories, or do you prefer novels?  What is on your reading list for July?  Please leave me a comment below.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Novels, but I read so slow. My July list will turn into my August and September list…
    I’m reading the “Gone” series with my boys (although one of them read ahead and finished already–way faster than me).
    I just started reading blogs too. I know that is fairly obvious, you know, with me leaving a comment here and all. I love blogs where people actually speak to their readings–not those blogs full of one liners. (I like this one.)
    Do you use the Goodreads.com site? I started not so long ago. It is going to help me to not read the same book that I read five years ago. Sometimes I don’t notice until I’m 150 pages in…

    Reply
    • I figure that if I don’t notice until fifty pages in, it either needs reread or isn’t worth reading. I am a slow reader, too, but summer is my best time for reading.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

