Perfect fall breakfast– Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

I thought that I invented this breakfast when I needed to use up last year’s frozen pumpkin during the summer. Then I started watching my favorite blogs post about pumpkin in the last few weeks. Even so, I have to add my two cents.

The major differences between my recipe and many others I have seen are: Use honey instead of sugar, and because I am able to buy farm fresh eggs I add eggs for extra protein– we’re runners, remember.

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie
Makes about 7 cups

2 cups milk
2 cups pumpkin
1/3 cup honey or to taste
1 teaspoon each cinnamon, ginger and cloves
Optional:
A handful of ice cubes (I don’t like too many. Add more if you like a brain freeze for breakfast.)
A banana
2 farm fresh eggs

Blend like crazy.

I serve this with cinnamon toast or muffins. The color alone makes it wonderful for breakfast.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

