Hiking Anniversary Snapshot

Just one quick update.  Fall is hiking season, you know, which is why blogging is sparse.  Too much living to do much writing!  I did want to show you one of the places we’ve been recently.  We have a tradition in our family of hiking for wedding anniversaries.  My parents started it, taking us to Escalante area and hiking during April for their anniversary, and we have continued doing something similar for our  anniversary.  Last year for our anniversary, Shandy and I took the older kids to Druid Arch in Canyonlands.  Because the hike was long, we left the younger kids with my parents.

This year for our anniversary (18!), we all went together.  We drove through Moab in flash flood, then camped near the Canyonlands entrance.  The 17 mile hike was just as wonderful as we remembered it, and the little ones fairly dragged the rest of us the last part of the trail.

Here are a few “anniversary pictures” from Druid Arch.

I know many of you will think this is a strange, unromantic way to spend a wedding anniversary.  I don’t want to further disillusion you, but Shandy’s present to me was a framed collage of hiking pictures, and my present to him was a homemade cheesecake.  (I have a magnet on my fridge that says “Say it with carbohydrates,” and I do!)

How do you celebrate your wedding anniversary.  Do you have a romantic getaway, or do you plan something for the whole family?  Please leave me a comment.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

