Some of My Favorite Things January are . . .

This post is just a hodgepodge of a few things I think you will enjoy . . . things I enjoy.

  • Follow this hiker as she rambles across the United States and Canada in her tiny trailer, taking wonderful pictures along the way.  Her courage is amazing.
  • While you wait for Downton Abbey Season 3 to come out in a form you can watch, try out the series Land Girls (the first series at least is available from Netflix.)  The characters are engaging and the scenery is beautiful.
  • I finished reading Sometimes a Great Notion by Ken Kesey.  Truthfully, the adjective I most want to apply to this book is cinematic, but when I tried to watch the movie, I was disappointed.  I love Paul Newman, and the logging scenes seemed wonderful, but they just did not do justice to the complicated character interactions of this book.  It was a difficult read — the kind of book you have to start over the minute you finish it to figure out what really happened– but well worth the endeavor.
  • I am so excited about higher level courses being offered over Internet.  Coursera has a wonderful list of courses starting soon.  Eden and I took a course about World Music earlier this year, and while we were not able to finish all the assignments and get a certificate, we have since explored in more detail many of the things we learned.  Starting in January, I will be taking a Nutrition for Health Promotion class that promises to be very interesting.
  • Just finished Gretchen Rubin’s book Happier at Home.  It was a great follow-up to her first, Happiness Project, with many ideas to put to work.  One of the things I have put to work already is her plan to “suffer for 15 minutes” to accomplish a project she had been putting off.  It’s hardly suffering for me to quilt, but I have been working on quilting in 15 minute intervals, and have gotten a lot closer to finishing the quilt I’ve been working on all year.

Do you have some great recommendations to share?  Please leave a comment below.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. You’ve just added a book to my to-read list and a show to my Hulu queue. Thanks for the recommendations!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

