Try This Now: Caramel Popcorn

I finally broke down and bought myself a hot-air popcorn popper.  I’ve wanted one for a while:  I’ve heard many dieticians recommend popcorn as a whole grain, and while I don’t really like it myself, I thought it would be a good snack for the kids.  I don’t like to offer microwave popcorn because of all the additives involved, so when I replaced my Crock-Pot (I broke the pot!), I bought a popcorn popper as well.  The kids have enjoyed popcorn with butter and salt, butter and Parmesan, and butter and cinnamon-sugar.

In an upcoming post, I’ll let you in on a few things I’ve found out about snacking and home schoolers.  But for right now, I just want to share my sister-in-law’s wonderful recipe for homemade Caramel Popcorn.

Start with a big bowl of hot popcorn.  (My popper uses 1/2 cup kernels to make a big bowl, just right for this recipe.)

In a large saucepan, boil together:

1/2 cup butter

1 cup brown sugar

3 Tablespoons corn syrup or pancake syrup (I haven’t tried this variation)

When the butter is completely melted and boiling, add:

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon vanilla

This is what it will look like:

carmel for popcornImmediately pour over hot popcorn and stir with a big spoon.  I thought I could use my hands for this, but it was just too hot!

Here’s the finished product:

carmel popcorn

 

And this is what you will look like eating it:

DSC_0039

Start to finish:  15 minutes.  Enjoy those happy faces!

What is your favorite addition to popcorn?  Please leave a comment below.

 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. You don’t have to bake it after you pour the carmel on? And it stays good? Seems too easy to be true…thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • We have talked about experimenting with baking it, but we like the slightly sticky product as is. If you wait to eat it –we have a hard time doing that– it hardens up more like Cracker jacks.

      Reply
  2. Looks yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

