School Around the House

I  call myself hyper-active or ADD sometimes.  I’m glad I don’t have to sit in a classroom all day.  Even though I have a perfectly wonderful schoolroom, built especially to my specifications, and a beautiful handmade school table, I have a terrible time sitting still and doing schoolwork with the kids.  Perhaps that’s because I can always think of other things I could be taking care of at the same time.  We have a special name for the solution to the problem.  It’s called “follow Mom around the house” school.

Sometimes we do spelling test in the sewing room while Mom is ironing.

Saxon math requires a lot of mental math and skip counting drills every day.  Sometimes we do this in my bedroom while I make my bed.

And more counting while I put away laundry.

Did you notice the quilt? (I told you I am ADD.)   Why yes, I made it myself.  It was machine quilted, although I usually like to do the hand quilting myself.  Piecing quilts is not something you can do while listening to skip counting however.  Either the counter escapes or the quilt escapes.  It is not a good combination.  Here is a close up of the quilt:

And then, of course, there is kitchen school.  That sometimes comes as active involvement by kids in a cooking project, but often involves a kid sitting at the counter reading aloud or discussing a project with me while I wash dishes or prepare lunch.

And last, but certainly not least, is the time when we all discipline ourselves and sit down at the schoolroom table to do our work.

I have never noticed any bad effects on learning from this type of school, and perhaps there are even some benefits to the kinetic learner as we move around from spot to spot.  But really, this type of school is for the benefit of Mom — I get my jitters out and feel like I am multi-tasking.

Do you do chores while you teach your kids?  Are there some chores that are possible while teaching, and others that just cannot be done?  Please leave me a comment.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. This is how we do school too! I have a wonderful classroom downstairs my husband made me with a really cool timeline wrapping around it and all, but if we do sit down – it’s at the kitchen table so it’s turned into a sort of craft/pile-up-stuff-to-organize room.
    Also, your quilt is lovely; I have one that I am determined to finish next month. (I started it ten years ago!)

    Reply
  2. Heather Anderson

     /  February 22, 2012

    I have home schooled like this for years. We wouldn’t get lunch otherwise, and my bed wouldn’t often get made either.

    Reply

Leave a comment