Apple Pan Dowdy

Hurry!  as October Unprocessed approaches, I need to sneak in all these not-so-healthy fruit breakfast recipes I told you about!  Actually, this one is not-so-unhealthy either, and could easily fit the October Unprocessed profile . . . maybe I should have saved it for October.  Oh well, make it again, switched around (I’ll tell you how it turns out…)

This apple pie knock-off is fantastic in a bowl with milk for breakfast.  Called dowdy because the top crust is tucked into the dish around the apples making for thick, cobbler-like sides to the pie, it is easy to make if you have about an hour in the morning for breakfast.  One way to make this pie even more easily is if you have someone in your family you can convince to peel apples while you make the crust.  In our family it works that way for many of these breakfasts:  “if you peel peaches, I will make kuchen!” or “If you peel and slice pears, I will make the claflouti!”  That way, we get a little kitchen cooperation early in the morning, and a meal everyone loves.  Since I know that won’t work for many families in the early morning, this recipe would also make a great easy dessert.

Apple Pan Dowdy

Serves 6

For filling:

4 apples, peeled and sliced thin (I used a mixture of Fuji and Ginger Gold)

1 Tablespoon sugar

1 Tablespoon flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon

For crust:

1 1/8 cups flour

1/2 cup butter, chopped into 8 pieces

1 Tablespoon sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 egg yolk

2-3 Tablespoons water

Peel and slice apples, then mix with other filling ingredients in 7×11 pan or deep dish pie plate. (The blue dish you see above was a recent gift from my grandma.  Isn’t it pretty?)  Place flour, butter, sugar and salt in bowl of food processor and process until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  Add egg yolk and pulse once.  Remove to a small bowl, and add water, gathering the mixture together with a wooden spoon until it can be formed into a ball.  Roll this ball out into a circle approximately 3 inches bigger around than your dish.  Center on top of apples, then gently tuck around the sides and under the dish, lifting the apples so that the crust can tuck onto the bottom of the dish.  Sprinkle with a little granulated sugar, then bake for 45 minutes at 375 degrees.  Serve hot in a bowl with milk.

I am really thinking this could be made for October Unprocessed by removing the sugar from the crust and replacing the sugar in the filling with honey.  I often use whole wheat flour for crusts anyway, so I bet this would be tasty that way — I especially like the flavor of whole wheat with apples.  I might try it out and let you know!

If you’re interested in reading about how last year’s challenge went for us, look here.  If you want to know our plans for this year, please stay tuned!  Hope you enjoy this recipe.  How are you using fall apples?  Please leave me a comment.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Planning a Family Style October Unprocessed « anothergranolamom

Leave a comment